Loriville Gazette
2001 May 31 yoga strikes back

Last night's yoga kicked my butt. Hard.

I can't figure out why my body couldn't tolerate last night's yoga class. Was the temperature too hot? Was three weeks off yoga too long?

I could swear the temperature was cranked up to at least 110 last night. I was bubbling hot, hotter than I'd ever been before. My body was literally spraying/oozing/pouring sweat. It wasn't natural at all. After class was finished, I looked like I'd stepped right out of a shower, or got caught in a rainstorm. I was drenched. My clothes and hair were dripping. As a result, I could not stop anywhere to get anything for dinner because I was too embarrassed. Even the guy at the Bay Bridge toll booth noticed my drowned rat look. He said, "Yes, it is a hot day today, isn't it?"

The worst part about last night's yoga class? I kept getting terrible waves of nausea and dizziness. I had to leave the "hothouse" and put my head between my legs in the lobby. I stayed out there for about 10 minutes, gathering my composure. I did not want to faint in class!

I then went back in and carefully did what I could to get through the 1.5 hour class. I waited several poses out and curled into Child's Pose instead (a resting pose). The entire session was nothing less than agonizing.

I kept looking at the clock. I counted down the minutes until class would be over. On a good day, class is over way too fast. Last night, obviously, was not a good day.

After class, I practically ran outside into the 90 degree heat (which felt so cold compared to the hot room that I immediately got the chills) to cool off. I sat down on the pavement so that I could put on my shoes.

After I stood up, I noticed that my soaking yoga pants had left a nice imprint of my ass on the concrete. Had I felt better, I would have thought that funny.

Once I got home, I hung my clothes and my yoga towels up to dry and took a long hot bubble bath.

A couple hours later, I got a fierce headache. I kept waking up in the middle of the night to the pain. When I woke up this morning, I deliriously got ready for work but then collapsed onto my bed.

I called work to let them know that I would not be in today. I immediately went back to sleep and slept until noon.

It's now after 2:00. The headache is still here despite attempts to kill it with extra strength Excedrin.

And it's a heat wave here today. That makes things all the more miserable. It's pushing 90 outside, which is unusually hot by San Francisco standards. Very few people have air conditioning here but the people who do are very happy today, I'm sure. Everyone else is sorry.

I have some windows open, hoping to catch a rare breeze. Fortunately, sometimes I get one. It helps a little.

Well, I think I'll go back to bed now. Sitting up hurts.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24