Loriville Gazette
2001 May 25 anticipation

It's finally Friday. Phew. I was beginning to think this week would never end.

The Tahoe trip has been postponed to next weekend, mostly because Turnip is having emergency wisdom tooth extraction surgery today. My dad also admitted that he was dreading the horrendous Memorial weekend crowds.

So next weekend it is. Next weekend actually works out better for me because now I can study nonstop this weekend and relax next weekend. Two weeks until the exam.

Other plans for this weekend other than studying: doing laundry, cleaning up the two dead spiders on my hardwood floors, and disinfecting my coffee pot (I didn't empty the leftover coffee before I left for Salt Lake City and now there's a film of mold growing on top of the old coffee).

Tonight M and I have dinner reservations at the best Cajun/Creole restaurant in the bay area. Or so I've been told. TJ's Gingerbread House in Oakland. They faxed us the menu last night because you have to order the day before. I decided on the Catfish Etouffee. M is getting the "Pick Your Heart Out" chicken. We ordered the Shrimp Remoulade as an appetizer. Yum! We haven't had Etouffee or Remoulade since our trip to New Orleans in 1999. We're way overdue.

M's recruiter is picking up the tab. After all, when he accepted the position at his current company, she got compensated quite nicely (recruiters get a percentage of the employee's sign-on salary). She told him, "Take your girlfriend out to a nice dinner and send the bill to me."

TJ's Gingerbread House isn't cheap. I'll be surprised if we get out of there paying less than $150.

I am so looking forward to sinking my teeth into the Remoulade and Etouffee tonight!

Signing off, until next time.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24