Loriville Gazette
2001 May 15 What I did last weekend in Sacramento

Well, I survived the Land of Oven Heat (i.e. Sacramento). By sheer luck, it wasn't hot there this past weekend! If it were, things would have gotten ugly. My car's air conditioning currently isn't working because it needs more freon. I don't need air con here in San Francisco but it's a necessity for trips into the valley.

I'll be in Sacramento again next month. It is sure to be boiling hot then, so I'd better get my air conditioning fixed real quick.

So, this past weekend was real fun. I went shopping with my sister, Turnip, on Saturday afternoon. We both spent too damn much. I bought a white sleeveless turtleneck sweater, $100 in makeup at the BeneFit counter (yikes!), and some dark brown sandals. It appears as though my feet are growing... or else the shoe manufacturers are making their shoes smaller. Not long ago, I used to purchase 7-1/2s. Now I'm buying 8-1/2s! What's up with that?

After our shopping spree, we met up with Sandy and Ron for dinner at Woody's On The River because Chevy's, next door, had a one hour wait! After dinner, Ellen and Alice met up with Sandy, Turnip, and I for drinks at Turnip's favorite hole-in-the-wall, Benny's. I really liked Benny's... it reminds me of Zeitgeist. After Benny's, Turnip and I went back to her place to watch There's Something About Mary. I can't get enough of that movie.

Before we knew it, it was 4 am. Needless to say, we slept in kind of late the next morning. We made a run to Taco Bell in our pajamas immediately after waking up.

My dad came over for a quick visit. Then, I went over to my mom's for a Mother's Day barbecue. It was real nice. I took tortilla chips, salsa, and cherry chocolate-chip ice cream. We drank margaritas and sat on the back patio. I stayed late because we watched The Soprano's followed by a program called Living Dolls - about child beauty pageants. Scary!

I went back to Turnip's house and wearily crawled into bed. The next day was my Exam Review. Come to find out... I made ridiculous mistakes on the exams last December. I really don't know what I was thinking when I did some of those things. I'm disgusted with myself.

I know I won't make those mistakes again, but let's just hope that I won't make other equally dumb mistakes at the exam next month.

I got back into San Francisco yesterday around 3:00. M had just gotten back from southern California, so I went over to his place. M helped me wax my car. It's such a glossy beaut right now!

We got pizza at Pasquale's and rented a movie. We chose Xiu Xiu: The Sent Down Girl, a Chinese film that M had heard good things about. Very good, but very depressing.

And here it is Tuesday already. Luckily, it will be a short work-week, as I'll be off to Salt Lake City on Friday morning.

Signing off, until next time....

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24