Loriville Gazette
2001 May 9 my happy song

Sweetness, Sweetness I was only joking when I said I'd like to smash your teeth into your head.

Oh Sweetness, Sweetness I was only joking when I said you should be bludgeoned in your bed.

-Morrissey, "Bigmouth Strikes Again"

I was listening to that song on the way in to work this morning. It always makes me laugh in disbelief.

Morrissey is definitely a one-of-a-kind character.

Speaking of music, I think I now know what my "happy song" is... after searching for it for the past couple of years. It's now "Sexy Thing" by Hot Chocolate. This will be the song I'll now think of when I'm sad or stressed or angry.

Previously, I somewhat considered "Friday I'm in Love" by the Cure as my happy song, but that didn't quite feel right. Sometimes it made me happy and sometimes it didn't. But how can you not feel happy while listening to "Sexy Thing"? It just makes me smile and laugh and want to dance.

I was terribly late into work this morning due to my stupidity. The power went off at my house yesterday at some point; when I came home from ballet all the clocks were blinking. I re-set my alarm clock right before I went to bed. The ridiculous part is that I set it wrong! I don't know why or how this happened.

So, as I was getting ready for work this morning, I glanced at the clock in my bathroom (which is run by battery) and found that it was really one hour later than I had thought! I had to call my boss and tell her the fiasco, that I would be in late. I was so embarrassed.

The End.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24