Loriville Gazette
2001 May 8 San Francisco dreamscapes

Okay, I'm going to try this again.

San Francisco Dreamscapes, Take 2

The weather is still beautiful, believe it or not. This is very unlike San Francisco. People are wearing shorts and sandals, for hell's sake! I don't have to wear a jacket at night! This is all highly unusual.

I would have worn sandals into the office today had my toenails been freshly painted. Instead, I'm looking very New York: red silk sweater, lightweight rayon red/pink/navy mini-floral knee-length skirt, and navy "cut-out" heels. Today I look like I stepped out of Carrie Bradshaw's closet from Sex & the City.

The weather was so nice last night that M and I decided to watch the sun set on the beach. I dressed in shorts, tank top, cardigan, and tennis shoes for the special occasion and brought a blanket. (We forgot the wine, dammit.) Once we got down to the beach, however, it was cold! Amazing how much the temperature can change in just 20 blocks....

We layed on our stomaches with our faces toward the sun. We covered our pant-less legs with 1/2 of the blanket so we wouldn't shiver to death. The sunset was incredibly beautiful!

Afterward, we went down the street to Leon's Bar-B-Q, a San Francisco relic. I hadn't been there before. Their barbecue beef is excellent! Unfortunately, the corn muffins left much to be desired. The coleslaw was okay by coleslaw standards (although I'm not much of a fan). I'd say it's definitely worth a trip if just for the barbecue beef.

After dinner, we drove up to Twin Peaks to see the city lights and the gorgeous full moon. It was so calm and peaceful. I'm in love with this city.

Cinco de Mayo was a lot of fun! M and I went to a software company's open house (M has a lot of friends and ex-coworkers who work there). It was great: lots of food, liquor, ice cream, and live music (Mumbo Gumbo, no less!). What more could anyone ask for? We also got a tour of the new facility. Damn, in my next life I want to be a software engineer! This place was incredible! The best part is that they have a massage therapy room. Every employee gets a 45-minute massage every two weeks... on company time, even. They have tea Tuesdays (complete with a beautiful china tea set), beer Fridays, and other themes I can't remember. Architecturally, the place was a work of art.

On Sunday, my sister and I treated my mom to a spa day at mud baths and hot springs in Calistoga in celebration of upcoming Mother's Day. We started the treatment with a mud bath, then moved to the hot springs bath with towering mountains of bubble bath. After the bath, we went in the steam room. Afterward, we were swathed in wool blankets until our massage appointment. We had 1/2 hour massages. Dylan, my massage therapist, was divine! It was an incredible massage. He used to be a carpenter, so he had big strong hands. And, he didn't chatter... a huge plus in my book. When I want a relaxing massage, I want it quiet.

I met my mom and my sister back in the shower room. We prettied ourselves, then walked down to Hydro Grill for a late lunch of hamburgers and beers. After lunch, we did some shopping at the outlet stores in Napa. I bought a much-needed black cardigan sweater at J. Crew and a delicious retro-print knee-length skirt at Max Studio.

Unfortunately, I drove back to San Francisco with the worst headache this side of the Mississippi. I wondered if I was dehydrated, as I did lose a lot of body fluid at the spa from sweating out so many toxins. I went home, drank tons of water, then flopped down on my bed... to find later that I couldn't get up. M picked up my prescription for me at Rite Aid, even though he was thoroughly exhausted from working on the bike ramps at the Embarcadero all day. What a guy! We both fell asleep to the scent of incense burning. When I awoke the next morning, my headache was magically gone.

M started his new job yesterday. He now has this lush job working 32-hour workweeks! I'm jealous beyond belief. I've decided I just need to retire.

The end.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24