Loriville Gazette
2001 Apr 8 whale watch synopsis

The weekend is coming to a close, which makes me very sad. Today, M and I slept in, went to Howard's Cafe for breakfast, then went back to his house and caught the tail end of that movie, "The Flinstones in Viva Rock Vegas". It was pretty goofy.

Then I came home and vacuumed my apartment, dusted, and scrubbed my floors with 409 while I washed my throw rugs at the laundromat across the street. If I had more time, I'd scrub my bath tub and sink. Alas, there's no time.

M and I are heading to his friends' clam bake in a few minutes.

Yesterday's whale watching trip was pretty amazing. The first thing we did was head out to the open ocean. The water was really rough and the vessel was being tossed and turned. Thank heavens for my accupressure wristbands! I actually thought the rough ocean ride was fun. Many people started to feel nauseous around this time, but not me! I kept yelling, "whooohoooo!" and "yeah! Bring it on!" It was extremely windy yesterday, which could explain the rough water.

It was very cold and windy, and everyone was miserably soaked with sea water (which dried white on my waterproof parka).

The ocean didn't yield any whales, so we headed into the bay. This was surprising to me, but the captain said he'd been spotting whales in the bay for the past three weeks. M and I went down into the cabin and took a quick nap while we headed past Angel Island.

Soon, the whale sightings began. After spotting one, everyone got really quiet, more concerned with getting a good camera shot. Since M was in charge of the photos, this left me free to gawk. While everyone else was silent, I'd marvel "That is soooo amazing!" It really was. A few times, the whales got really close to the boat.

The weather, although very windy, was mostly sunny. The weather report had predicted rain but, thankfully, we didn't get one drop.

We got back to land windburned and drained. Since I had taken some of Connie's dramamine right before we boarded the boat, I was very drowsy by the end of the day. I felt very drugged. I went home, took a bath (while barely being able to keep my eyes open), and took a lengthy nap.

After resting, I headed over to M's house. As I got into my car, I thought to myself, "Wow, this must be my lucky day! Who washed my car for me?", since my car looked sparkling new. It had been very grimy and dirty the last time I drove it two days prior. (I rarely wash my car.) Then I remembered that it had rained really hard the night before. Duh.

M and I went out for sushi and rented Raging Bull that night after the whaling trip. So that, roughly, was my weekend.

FYI, we plan on scheduling a humpback whale trip sometime this July or August, so mark your calendars and save your money. Everyone's welcome!

Ciao!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24