Loriville Gazette
2001 Mar 30 working girl angst

Damn.

This has not been a happy day. It's my day off... and here I am in the office, of all places! I'm very bitter. The salt in the wound is that it's a breathtakingly beautiful day outside! If I weren't here, I would be enjoying the day in my park (i.e. Golden Gate Park).

Well, at least there's a bright side: the overtime check will be nice.

The day actually started off well. I had my very last appointment at the Laser Eye Center bright and early at 8:00. They determined that I easily see 20/20 out of both eyes. This wasn't surprising news (I already knew my sight was excellent, after all)... it was just nice to know that I'm seeing 20/20, especially because I don't have ANY side effects. I'm very fortunate. Some people get nasty halos, glare, or sensitivity to light.

After my great 10 minute appointment, I sauntered down to Starbucks on my way to the office via BART. I don't normally patronize Starbucks (what's all the hype about, anyway?! Their coffee isn't that good!), but it was right there in front me and I was hungry.

By the way, I know I look cute today because the Starbucks employee even told me so. He just couldn't get over me! The compliments came rushing forth. The best part about this story is that I think he was gay (because he was extremely attractive and well-dressed... and as everyone knows, most extremely attractive well-dressed men are gay). Like I've said before, I take gay guys' compliments very seriously.

Well, anyway, after I ordered my tall decaf latte, I waited over in the "waiting area" for my coffee to be ready. The woman next to me had a momentary lapse of reason and took my decaf latte by mistake! I think the regular latte was meant for her because it went unclaimed. And, you know, Starbucks never makes mistakes.

One of the employees was perplexed when no one picked up the latte, so she asked me what I was having. I told her, so she had to make another. Of course, I was waiting longer than usual but it was no big deal. I mean, I wasn't in any hurry to get into the office or anything....

After I got my latte, another employee stopped me on the way out of the store and presented me with a free drink coupon "for all my trouble". I thought, 'Wow! This is my lucky day!' I thought the rest of the day would be beautiful. But you know what? This day has turned out to be a day from hell.

I've been wrestling with this ridiculous antiquated cost estimating software all day. I think this program was developed in the 1970s... not that it was a good system to start with. It's terribly user-unfriendly. I feel bad for my cubicle neighbor, as I kept cursing to myself. I seriously wanted to pull my hair out today and run screaming from the building. I'm angry that we're required to use such an unproductive system.

As a result, I've spent 8 straight hours in this building today. I didn't even take a lunch break. I ran down to the cafeteria (located in the lobby) and grabbed some mahi mahi with mango salsa and literally inhaled it. (It's quite shocking I don't have a belly ache.)

I'm calling it a day. I'm sooo ready to go home and hopefully enjoy the few remaining minutes of sunlight. Tomorrow better be nice or else!

Au revoir!

p.s. What I'm wearing on my toenails this week: nothing! I'm going au naturel.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24