Loriville Gazette
2001 Mar 04 lazy Sunday

Today is such a lazy Sunday afternoon. It's been storming ever since about 1:00 this morning. I love hearing the howling wind and the slapping rain when I'm all cozy in my bed. It's so peaceful.

M and I slept in until 11:00 and didn't get out of bed until noon. How do you like them apples?! I love 'em.

We went to a Russian restaurant last night with M's work group. I had never eaten Russian food before last night... and there was a truckload! I don't think our party even ate half of the food they brought out. My personal favorites were the chicken Kiev, the Russian pancakes (filled with sour cream and caviar), and the assorted meat/seafood plate. Bottles of vodka and cognac also littered the table.

The band started up about halfway through dinner. The band members were, of course, Russian. They spoke in Russian and performed some Russian rock songs. They even played a couple American hits... things like Mambo #5, Livin' La Vida Loca, and Abracadabra. It was very funny.

M and I and others in our party got up and danced between courses.

Toward the end of the evening, Vladmir something-or-other, the Russian equivalent of Elvis Presley (extremely popular in Russia 20 years ago) arrived and performed one song! This was a very big deal.

We had an enjoyable evening and didn't get home until 12:30. This partly explains why we slept in so late.

Friday was my day off. I went snowboarding with my coworker, Connie. She and I are approximately the same ability level so I was very excited to be able to actually snowboard with someone.

I'm still sore. In fact, I think I'm even more sore today than I was yesterday. My shoulders and upper arms are killing me. I couldn't even write my name decently yesterday because my muscles were so shaky and achey!

Well, I think it's about time for me to change my sheets and unload my groceries. Housework calls.

Until next time.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24