Loriville Gazette
2001 Feb 23 snow-bound

I'm on a roll now, as I'm updating more and more regularly. I've got to keep it up.

It's refreshing to know that today is Friday. I've waited all week for this glorious day! Since Monday, actually.

M and I have made last-minute plans to go out of town for the weekend. Only because Sara is giving away free lift tickets (Sara gets them free from work. I need a job with benefits like that!). Woo hoooo! We'll be living it up in Tahoe City.

We're going to leave early early tomorrow morning and head up. Hopefully, we will carpool with either Rob or Mark and Sara. M's car is convertible; hence, not very good in cold weather. My car has random starting problems, so I feel like it would be too much of a risk to take it.

We plan to snowboard on Sunday, too, if we're not too tuckered out. I'm a little phobic of wrenching my neck repeatedly, like I did last time (I was in pain for three days afterward). I hope it doesn't happen on Saturday because I'd really like to hit the slopes again on Sunday.

I'm going snowboarding with Connie next weekend. It sounds like she and I have similar ability levels, so hopefully we can help each other out. I want her to counsel me on how to do a heel turn without falling on my face. Watch out; I'll be pro before you know it!

Not much else to report. Oh, did I mention that I survived Bikram yoga class? Obviously, you can probably tell that I did... I am writing this, after all. Duh. Anyway, it was an excellent class. Bikram isn't as concerned with proper body alignment or breath as Ayungar is. You're just working away at the poses in this tremendous heat (the room is kept at 105 degrees)... and they're done at a faster pace than Ayungar.

By the time the 1.5 hour class was finished, I was drenched. Even my hair was sopping wet. You work in front of a mirror so that you can focus into your own eyes (it helps you stay in the pose, oddly enough). I could actually see the sweat oozing out of my pores! Very odd and a little disconcerting.

It was an extreme workout, to boot. I was a little sore yesterday. I'll go again next week. There are big benefits to doing it regularly. Ideally, you probably want to do it 3x/week... but to do that, I'd have to give up ballet. I'm not ready to do something that drastic!

Hasta luego!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24