Loriville Gazette
2001 Feb 21 near-death on Muni

My Muni trip home last night was an adventure. First of all, let me just say that I was extremely disturbed that all the trains were packed... one right after another! I waited over 20 minutes to find an acceptable train, but every single one that passed by was so crowded that you couldn't even shove your toe inside. So, guess what happened? I missed ballet!

This is beginning to happen more than just occasionally. I'm getting angry.

So, because I couldn't catch an uncrowded train in time to make it to ballet class, I decided I'd just ride the next possible train and go one stop beyond, then catch the 33 bus like I do after ballet on my way home.

One train finally came that I was able to squeeze on to. We're all crammed inside, riding along, when suddenly the train operator slams on the brake. Momentarily, my life flashed before my eyes. Luckily, I was holding on tight. Everyone in the train swayed to a nearly horizontal position; several people ended up on the floor. I kept expecting to hear the sound of metal crunching, but it never came. I was relieved when we came to a full stop (we were in the tunnel, so we couldnt' see anything) without crashing into anything. Everyone was very shaken up. The train operator never said a thing! After a few minutes, the train began moving again.

Eventually, when the operator announced that we were approaching Castro Station, I was bewildered by the voice. The voice oddly matched that of a 90 year-old woman! Then, when we came to a stop at the station, the doors opened and she said, "Get out. Get out now." Everyone on the train burst out laughing! Luckily, it was my stop because I was afraid to continue riding.

From there, I grudgingly took the 33 home. Once at home, I ate leftover sushi and did a workout to make up for my missing class. Afterward, I took a hot bath and was in bed by 10:00! Miracles do happen. :)

Tonight I'm going to try a Bikram yoga class. For the past three years, I've taken Ayungar. I'm a little nervous because with Bikram, the room is kept really toasty. Two people I work with took a Bikram yoga class and they said it was super challenging! Both of them said they didn't think they'd be able to make it through class and that they sweated buckets. However, they also said they felt really light and glowing afterward. I'm all for feeling like I'm glowing!

I'll let you know if I survive.

Over & out.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24