Loriville Gazette
2001 Feb 05 fleeting thoughts

How is it that just when you expect something to happen, it doesn't? It must be a Murphy's Law. The past couple evenings I expected The Visitor to stop by. I guess it's no surprise that he didn't. He usually comes by on Tuesday, Thursday, and Sunday nights and sometimes Wednesday nights. So, last Thursday and again last night, I was prepared to give him a piece of mind. On Thursday, I had my sister in Sacramento on the telephone line for moral support for when he came by. I even had a pot of coffee brewing in anticipation of my guest's visit (joke). He stood me up. Last night, I waited up for him. Again, a no show.

Now I dare him to come by because, dammit, I'm angry! I'll show no mercy. Even if it happens to be a long-lost friend. My sister asked me if it could, by chance, be Charlie. He's done freaky things like show up at her place unannounced before, but that was over a year ago. Besides, I don't think he knows my address, anyway. If it were him, however, I'd tell him to get lost because I don't appreciate being harrassed. Rude!

Did I mention how exasperated I am with my gas bill? I didn't think so. But I am. It's double what it was last month! Being that I live in a studio and I don't cook (i.e. use my gas stove), I think $100 a month for gas is excessive. Besides, it's not as if my apartment is nice and toasty. Quite the opposite. I wonder if my nightly hot baths have something to do with the high price. But don't ask me to do without my hot baths! They are my salvation from stress.

Chrissie and Corey exchanged vows on Saturday. M and I headed out to Lincoln Hills to join in the celebration. M looked so dashing in his new clothes that I couldn't keep my hands off him (nevermind that I can't keep my hands off him regardless of how he's dressed). We had a fun time dancing and mingling with everyone. The only negative of the evening was D. Like always, everything out of his mouth was inappropriate. Sometimes the words didn't even make sense. How disturbing. I did what I could to completely avoid him.

Thank heavens that, outside of M's brother's wedding in May, we're wedding-free for the remainder of the year. Hallelujah! Talk about wedding burn out. I don't even want to look at another invitation or registry for at least 8 months. I hope that's not too much to ask. I need a break. I'll have to remind all my friends not to disappoint me.

I did my taxes last night. As usual, it wasn't good news. No big surprise there.

I need a haircut. Bad. Sadly, I'm busy for the next two weekends (camping on Angel Island this weekend; southern California the following weekend) so I can't get one for a while. I'm at a loss for what I can do in the meantime. Suggestions, anyone?

Time to beat it. Adios!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24