Loriville Gazette
2001 Jan 30 Feeling bothered

Boy, I'm tired. It's been a draining week and, what is it, only Wednesday? This is where I let out a great big sigh....

I don't even know where to begin.

I think I'll start with a disturbing sight I saw a few nights ago in Pasta Pomodoro. M and I were sitting at a table next to this couple; the woman looked hideous. I'm not usually catty, but this girl looked bad. The worst part is that she honestly had no clue that her general taste in fashion is simply bad taste. It took me back to the last time I visited Disneyland with my mom (about four years ago). Let me explain:

We saw a woman there while we were watching some Wild West re-enaction something-or-other. I couldn't help staring at her because she looked so unbelievably odd. My mom, an image consultant, also noticed... which isn't surprising at all. Okay, so get this: This woman was wearing navy blue blush, black lipliner, and mauve-ish pink lipstick. Of course, my mom and I had a 10-minute or so conversation about what this woman was thinking when she got ready that morning. Did she think the blue blush looked nice? Didn't she ever learn that lipliner should match the lipstick? Then we thought, 'maybe she's going for that unbecoming ghoulish look' and left it at that for we simply could not comprehend why the woman did it.

So, anyway, the woman at Pasta Pomodoro was similar in her technique. Thank heavens she wasn't wearing the blue blush, but the technique was replaced by equally bad overly done black eyeliner. She looked like she had two black eyes... and not in the messy way. Her makeup looked freshly applied. Almost as bad, she had those long fake "claw" nails. I wondered why no one bothered to tell her that fake nails went out with the 80s, but I didn't feel it was my place to tell her.

After getting the initial glimpse of her and realizing my horror, I couldn't bear to look at her again. After she and her date left, I sighed a breath of relief and told M that I almost lost my appetite looking at her. I know that's mean, but I can't help it. She was practically eating her foccacia with her claws!

Sometimes I get uncontrollable desires to touch people. I just thought I'd share that. Last night while on the bus, I had this odd desire to put both my hands on the guy's shoulders in front of me. At first it was just a fleeting thought, like 'I wonder what would happen if I did this', but then I could, to my horror, almost see it happening. Busses are strange social capsules. There you are, in a huge moving vehicle with lots of people you don't know and sometimes you're squished in there so tight it's a wonder you're all strangers. I guess, after two years of being a Muni rider, that I still haven't adjusted to the thought of sharing such a small space with so many people I don't know.

There's a strange unspoken etiquette, too, about riding the bus. You're not supposed to sit next to someone unless all the rest of the seats have been filled by at least one person. Also, you're not supposed to make conversation with other people on the bus. It's best not to make eye contact, either. Some people are crazy and it's best to leave them in their own little world.

Speaking of crazy, The Visitor came by again last night. I'm getting annoyed. So much, in fact, that I called The Police Non-Emergency Line last night to get advice. This whole situation is getting out of hand. He came by again last night, rang by bell, and knocked on the door. I was confident that I was finally going to talk with him through the door last night, but I froze after hearing the bell. I was shook up, so M drove over to my house to do some quick surveillance. Nothing.

I know by now that it's no one I know. I'm hoping that it's not some psychologically unstable person deliberately stalking me.

The police woman I talked with last night after the incident said that I should talk with him next time through the closed door and call 911 if he starts acting suspicious. Her thoughts were that he was not going to stop until I made contact with him. So, I've got to do it as much as I hate the thought of talking with this weirdo. Creepy! This weirdo seems to know my schedule and only knocks on my door when I'm alone.

So M was thinking of things in my house I could use as a weapon, like my stone gargoyle candlestick holders. I do have mace and pepper spray and a personal alarm that I haven't carried around with me in a long time... so I'm going to have to dig those up out of boxes tonight. I'm also going to talk with my neighbor tonight so that he can be on the lookout for some oddball lurking around our house.

I never sleep very well after The Visitor comes. I just feel too creeped out. No wonder I'm so tired this week.

Well, time for me to get to yoga class. Hasta luego, hot potatoes!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24