Loriville Gazette
2001 Jan 24 mixed bag

Just taking a quick break from the workplace madness....

Who invented white chocolate? It's shameful. There's nothing decadent or even remotely delicious about it. I can't even describe the taste. Chalky super-sugary vanilla? Well, at least it's a try. I received a whole tin of the yucky stuff for Christmas from a coworker. I leave it in my desk and pick away at it one piece at a time. The worst thing about it is that it's addicting even though it's not very good. I think it's the sugar rush I'm craving. It's definitely not the taste.

Well, I can proudly say that I did A LOT of computer work last Friday, on my day off. I'm now a couple pages closer to finishing my improved web site. And, I almost finished the Powell Periodical newsletter (I offered to take over production of the family newsletter; it's good writing and editting experience, after all) and that memoir of my 1995 trip to Europe. It's coming along. Now I just need to determine when I can set aside another entire day to resume the work I did on Friday.

I've been delving into the mysteries of home cooking once again. I got a recipe for Microwave Creme Brulee off the Atkins Recipe Board yesterday. I'm really looking forward to trying it! Creme Brulee is my all-time favorite dessert. The best part about the recipe is that it's super easy (a requirement for me)... and I don't even have to turn on the oven or own one of those fancy double-boiler pots.

I made myself deviled eggs for breakfast last Saturday. Three of them. I couldn't believe I hadn't thought of having deviled eggs for breakfast before. They're delicious and fairly easy. When I told my sister, she laughed and said, "You live your life like it's a big party". Yeah, I guess I do. Try it, you'll like it.

My sister and I spent some time together last Saturday evening. It was good catching up with her. It sounds like she's transferred her obsession from the unavailable boy with marital problems to his friend. This revelation fills her with dread because she has a feeling she'll never see "married boy's friend" again. As usual, I told her to get over it. Don't get me wrong. I was happy as a lark to hear that she wasn't pining away over the married boy any longer, but it disturbed me to think that she'd have a crush on someone she met once and who she may never see again. I see major problems with those logistics. I hope she does see him again, but I'd be surprised if she did.

Well,I suppose I'd better get back to the grind. I'd love to type away all day but there's important work to do.

Cheerio!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24