Loriville Gazette
2001 Jan 12 Marilyn musings

Happy Friday! I thought the weekend would never get here. Thank goodness it did.

Good news is on the horizon regarding my internet dial-up situation at home: I think I may have found a new free ISP! After fairly extensive research, juno looks like it may be the winner. I'm going to download it onto my computer tonight. If all goes well, it won't be as sluggish as my current provider, netzero. (Netzero is so slow that I feel like I want to go insane every time I use it. I have to do something else simultaneously while I wait for pages to load, like open my mail or something. We can't have me going insane, can we?)

So now I'm going to talk about the fabulous night I had on Wednesday. M and I went to see Marilyn Manson. Must I say more? If you've ever been to one of their concerts, you'll know what I'm referring to.

I couldn't stop smiling. The show was mesmerizing. Simply stated, it was the best damn concert I've ever been to. From someone who's been to dozens of concerts, that's saying something.

I actually had a whole story composed in my head, of course, of things I wanted to write about the concert. Unfortunately, however, that was yesterday and I was busy. Today is a new day but now, unfortunately, I don't have the energy -or the memory- to write about everything I had wanted to. Drats!

Let me just say this. If you ever get the opportunity to see them in concert, do it. The stage set was great. The lighting was incredible (probably the best lighting design I've ever seen). The band members were extremely entertaining.

And Marilyn. He definitely stole the show. His stage presence is indescribable. You can tell he gets really into it and just has fun. M and I kept laughing at his antics.

The way he moves and walks is incredibly bizarre. I described his movements as "cartoon-like", while M called them "ghoulish".

He apparently has a festish with his own ass. He repeatedly showed us his bare backside. Other times, he'd hold the microphone up to it while crouched, butt facing audience.

We got a kick out of his stage props. He had this huge flashlight he'd shine across the audience. He also had a bull horn. And guns.

I warned M before the show that he'd better expect an incredibly theatrical show. (I'd read about how good the concerts were in music reviews.) The show definitely exceeded my expectations, and M was quite pleased as well. In fact, last night at my house, he asked me to play some Marilyn Manson CDs... which I was more than happy to oblige.

Plans for tonight include doing laundry and working on the computer (M is going down to the ramp clubs). It's been a tiring week so I'm looking forward to the downtime. Tomorrow I'm hoping that we can go biking. I want to try out the new mountain bike that M got me last weekend. Tomorrow night, we're going to his company holiday party at the Sir Francis Drake. Sunday evening, I'm having dinner with Alice and one of our college friends. Monday I have off work! :) I'll probably try to clean the apartment. It needs it.

Well, it looks like I'd better get. Hasta luego!

*toenail color of the month, courtesy of M: shiny tomato red

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24