Loriville Gazette
2000 November 27 post-Thanks

Hey you guys!

I know, I know. I myself can't believe it's been exactly three weeks since I'd last written! Where does the time go?

Okay. So a lot has happened since then... but where do I start? Thanksgiving came and went, so did Sandy's wedding. Both were fun fun fun!

For the first time ever, Meyer accompanied me to Sacramento for the turkey feast. On Wednesday night, he did his usual San Jose ramp club thing while I did laundry, listened to music, and talked on the phone. I went to bed fairly early because we had plans to leave San Francisco by 7:30 the next morning. The plan almost worked. We were on the road by 8. I feared BAD traffic, but surprisingly, I made my best time ever: 1 hour 45 minutes, door to door! Maybe all the travelers decided to sleep in....?

Once we got into Sacramento, we headed straight to my sister's house. We then decided that the three of us should head to the zoo, as the Sacramento Zoo always hosts Thanksgiving day free of charge. My dad and my cousin "Hoo" met us there. The zoo was closed!!! We were hugely disappointed. Instead, we grudgingly took a walk around the William Land Park neighborhood, talking and gawking at the fall color.

Soon, it was time to head over to my aunt & uncle's house for The Dinner. As expected, everything was dee-lish. Turkey. Mashed potatoes with gravy. Candied Yams (Hoo's favorite). Stuffing. Fruit salad. Homemade rolls. Followed by Gram's famous persimmon pudding and Nelva's pumpkin pie.

Afterward, we lounged around talking and watching movies on tape.

The next day, Meyer and I slept later than we anticipated. We had breakfast with Zaugi and Gary, then Meyer and I headed over to my haircut appointment. After the appointment and before Sandy & Ron's wedding rehearsal and dinner, we went to the Railroad Museum. It's really nice and had really changed a lot in the 20 years or so since I'd been there before. Unfortunately, we only got to spend an hour there before it closed. Oh, well. For the $3 admission fee, it was worth it. We'll definitely go back when we have more time.

Meyer got a kick out of Old Sacramento, too.

The rehearsal and dinner were fun. After the dinner, Meyer and I went to Bonn Lair and had a drink before heading back to Zaugi's.

Now on to the wedding.... It was incredibly fun! Everyone had a great time eating, drinking, dancing, conversing. The alcohol flowed freely (full bar!) and I think everyone drank more than they usually would. (Kevin was sick for the last half of the party.) Everyone was having so much fun, in fact, that many of the guests were still there when the reception ended! From there, the remaining 50 or so people headed over to the Holiday Inn -where many of the guests were staying- two blocks over. We filled up the bar area!

I can honestly say it was one of the best weddings I've ever attended! It was perfect. Everything ran smoothly. The best part, though, is that it was a huge reunion. I got to visit and catch up with several friends that I don't get to see much anymore. It was a bonding event.

After the Holiday Inn, Alice and Chris joined Meyer and I for a late-night pizza snack at Pieces, my after-hours snack place when I used to live in Sacramento. After we dropped Chris & Alice off, I realized that I didn't have my purse! Grumpy and in a slight alcohol daze, I panicked. The keys to Zaugi's house were in there, and if we didn't have the keys, where would we sleep (Zaugi & Gary were house-sitting for a friend in Loomis)?! To make a long story short, we eventually found my purse. It was a sobering experience.

We got to Zaugi's at 2:30 am, hit the sack, and left Sacramento the next day by noon.

Once home, I napped for a while, then studied. Don't even get me started about the studying. Here it is exactly one week from the exam and I don't have much studying under my belt to show for it. Hell. By now, I don't really expect to pass either section... even though I want to really really bad.

Time to go catch the train.

P.S. New toenail color, updated Thanksgiving night by Meyer: metallic medium blue

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24