Loriville Gazette
2000 August 06 Haight Street antics

After a plumbing fiasco early this afternoon, I decided to jet over to Haight Street to look for some new shoes.

I was walking down Haight Street when I noticed this guy who had come storming out of the Goodwill Store. He appeared to be angry... so angry that he was twitching and yelling profanities. Normally, I would have dismissed him as an insane transient, but what caught my eye was a young boy about 10 years old running along side of him, trying to catch up.

By this time, I had reached the Goodwill. I noticed that a crowd had gathered outside the doorway to the store, all eyes turned toward the angry man. My curiosity now piqued, I also stopped to gawk.

The man and his embarrassed-looking son finished crossing the street, got in a black BMW (which, by the way, was parked in a red zone), and started the car. I heard someone mutter, "He's going to try to be macho now."

The man had to wait a while to pull out of the "parking" space because so many cars were driving past. But when he did finally pull out, he stopped the car, looked over to see all of us staring at him, then yelled out, "Get a life!" Everyone in front of the store yelled back, "Get out of here!" and "Beat it!" and "Yeah, go back to where you came from!" and "We don't want you here!"

Then he turned forward and began to drive... and immediately almost got hit by a Muni bus. (His car must have inched into the other lane as he was looking at us.) The Muni driver started yelling at him and everyone in front of the store started laughing. He didn't even acknowledge the Muni driver and sped away.

I went into the Goodwill for a minute or so, until I realized that the guy may come back with a semi-automatic gun and shoot down everyone. I immediately left.

Turned out, there was no need to be alarmed. I was on Haight Street for about two hours and didn't witness any shootings. My shopping outing, however, was only semi-successful: 3 pairs of pants, but no shoes. Go figure.



back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24